The Scientists EP 7 Oz KBD 1980 White Rider Kim Salmon Rare Punk - rare vinyl collector item

« Back to Main Page

The Scientists "EP" 7" Oz KBD 1980 White Rider Kim Salmon Rare Punk

The Scientists EP 7 Oz KBD 1980 White Rider Kim Salmon Rare Punk
Auction Details:
Code ID
Ebay Item #
Sold Price
Auction End date
19 Nov 2016
Seller Location
Cloverdale, WA

Item Description

Classic second release from Kim Salmon and Co on the White Rider Label (The Rockets, Ground Zero).
Kim Salmon formed a protopunk band, the Cheap Nasties, in August 1976. He left in December 1977 and the remainder, with Robbie Porritt joining as lead vocalist, continued as The Manikins. Salmon replaced Mark Demetrius in the Exterminators, who then became known as the Invaders. The lineup included Roddy Radalj (guitar, vocals), Boris Sujdovic (bass) and John Rowlings (drums). 
The Invaders became The Scientists in May 1978, when James Baker from The Victims replaced John Rowlings. Sujdovic left the band in August 1978. The songwriting partnership that ensued, with Baker writing lyrics which Salmon would put to music, naturally favoured a melodic pop infused style of punk. 
The band started playing again in January 1979 with Dennis Byrne on bass. This lineup recorded the band's first single, "Frantic Romantic"/"Shake (Together Tonight)", released in June 1979 on the DNA label. 
Radalj and Byrne left in April 1979, to be replaced by Ben Juniper (guitar) and Ian Sharples (bass). This lineup recorded the band's second release, The Scientists EP (released February 1980) and did two tours of Melbourne and Sydney, in December 1979 and February/March 1980. In Melbourne, the band appeared on pop TV show Countdown, performing "Last Night" from the EP. 
Juniper left the band in May 1980 and Salmon, Baker and Sharples continued as a three-piece. The band broke up in January 1981 after recording their album, The Scientists (commonly referred to as The Pink Album), released in August 1981. In Sydney, Baker had joined Radalj to form Le Hoodoo Gurus with Dave Faulkner (ex-The Victims) and Kimble Rendall in January 1981.
Salmon then formed Louie Louie with Kim Williams (bass) and Brett Rixon (drums), though this band broke up in August 1981. 
Kim Salmon (vocals,guitar) / Ben Juniper (guitar,vocals) / Ian Sharples (bass,vocals) and James Baker (drums).
released February 28, 1980 
Recorded @ the Sweet Corn studios, Perth in October 1979. 
Engineered by Graeme Sands. Produced by Chris Tuna and The Scientists. 
The record is graded Very strong Vg++ to Ex- (ring wear,small writing on rear)/ Ex-. I will combine postage. The postage quoted includes registration, but not insurance.